Kailasham Ramalingam (2016 - )

Ph. D. student

In collaboration with Prof. Ravi Jagadeeshan (Monash)

B. Tech, Chemical Engineering, SV NIT Surat  (2009-2013)

M. SE,  Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering, University of Pennsylvania (2013-2015)

Email: kailasham29@gmail.com 

Research Topic:  Brownian dynamics simulations of polymers with internal friction and hydrodynamics

Praveen Kumar (2017 -)

Ph. D. student

M. Sc, NIT Jalandhar (2015-2017)

Email: kumarpk10594@gmail.com

Research Topic:  Tracer dynamics in polymer network

Rajiblochan Sahoo (2018 -)

Ph. D. student

M. Sc. Chemistry, IIT ISM Dhanbad (2015-2017)

Email: rajiblochansahoo413@gmail.com

Research Topic:  Passive and active transport in crowded medium

Current group members

Soham Sarkar (2016 - )

Ph. D. student

B. Sc, Chemistry, Thakurpukur Vivekananda College, Kolkata (2011-2014)

M. Sc, Chemistry, Indian School of Mines Dhanbad (2014-2016)

Email: soham9038@gmail.com 

Research Topic:  Molecular dynamics simulations of protein-co-solvent dynamics 

Subhasis Chaki (2016 - )

Ph. D. student

B. Sc,  Physics, Victoria College Coochbihar West Bengal (2009-2012)

M. Sc, JNU Delhi, Physical Sciences (2012-2014)

Email: subhasischaki@gmail.com 

Research Topic:  Non-equilibrium Statistical Mechanics of active systems

Ligesh T  (2018 -)

Ph. D. student

M. Sc. Chemistry, Central University of Rajasthan (2014-2016)

Email: ligeshbhaskar@gmail.com

Research Topic: Active tracer diffusion in polymeric environment

Pooja Nanavare  (2020 -)

Ph. D. student

M. Sc. Chemistry, K. J. Somaiya College of science and commerce, Vidyavihar, University of Mumbai (2016-2018)

Email: 96pooja9feb@gmail.com

Research Topic: Molecular Dynamics simulations of proteins

Asha Rani Choudhury  (2018 -)

Ph. D. student

M.Sc. Chemistry, Berhampur University (2015-2017)

Email: ashachoudhury95@gmail.com

Research Topic:  Simulations of stapled peptide-protein interactions

Ramanand Singh Yadav (2020-)

Ph. D. student

M. Sc. Chemistry, Banaras Hindu University (2017-2019)

Email: yadavramanand550@gmail.com

Research Topic:  Chemical Physics of active Transport

Kailash Sahu (2020 -)

M. Sc. student

B. Sc, St. Xavier’s College, Ranchi, Jharkhand

Email: ksahu6430@gmail.com

Research Topic:  Translational and rotational dynamics of passive and active single probes in crowded medium

Dr. Atanu Maity (July, 2018-)

Institute Post Doctoral Research Associate

B. Sc, Tamralipta Mahavidyalaya, Tamluk, West Bengal (2006-2009)

M. Sc, Vidyasagar University 


Email: atanuchem48@gmail.com

Ph. D., Bose Institute, Kolkata

Advisor: Shubhra Ghosh Dastidar

Thesis title: Flexibility and conformation modulations of proteins correlating apoptosis:

molecular dynamics simulations of Bcl-2 family proteins.

Research Topic: Protein-co-solvent dynamics, peptide-protein interactions.

Dr. Koushik Goswami (December, 2020-)

Institute Post Doctoral Research Associate

Ramakrishna Mission Residential College, Narendrapur, West Bengal


M. Sc, IIT Kharagpur


Email: goswamikoushik10@gmail.com

Ph. D., Indian Institute of Science, Bengaluru

Advisor: K. L. Sebastian

Thesis title: Non-equilibrium dynamics and thermodynamics of some single-particle active diffusive systems.

Research Topic: Time-dependent Statistical mechanical models for single molecule transport in crowded medium.


  • Ashutosh Kumar, IIT Bombay

  • Raghunath Chelakkot, IIT Bombay

  • Sofia S. Kantorovich, University of Vienna

Anish Shivamani (2020 -)

B.S. student (second year)

Email: anish.shivamani@iitb.ac.in

Research Topic:  Protein-co-solvent dynamics (mini project CH 397)

Former group members

Ph. D. students

Soumadwip Ghosh (Ph. D. 2011 - 2017)

B. Sc, Chemistry, St. Xavier's College, Kolkata (2006-2009)

M. Sc, Indian School of Mines Dhanbad (2009-2011)

Email: soumadwipghosh@gmail.com

Thesis title: Investigating the Dynamics of Biomacromolecules in presence of excess salt, ionic liquids and carbon nanostructures

Recipient of IIT Bombay excellence in PhD thesis award in Chemistry, 2018.

Current position: Scientist 2, illumina, San Diego, California, USA.

Nairhita Samanta (Ph. D. 2013 - 2018)

B. Sc, Chemistry, St. Xavier's College, Kolkata


M. Sc, University of Calcutta


Email: nsamanta07@gmail.com

Thesis title: Insights on passive and active

dynamics of polymer and colloidal suspensions

Recipient of IIT Bombay excellence in PhD thesis award in Chemistry, 2020.

Current position: Senior Analyst, Infosys, Hyderabad.


M. Sc/B. S students:


  • Ravindra Rajpoot (M.Sc, 2020)

  • Mahesh Kumar (M.Sc, 2019)

  • Subhajit Barman (M. Sc, 2019)

  • Valay Agarawal (B. S.)

  • Riddhi Ashok Jain (M. Sc, 2018)


  • Prasenjit Das (M. Sc, 2018) (2 Year M. Sc, 2016-18, now: PhD student, Indian Institute of Technology Kharagpur)


  • Pradeep Billas (M. Sc, 2018)


  • Naveen Kumar (2 Year M. Sc, 2017-18)


  • Disha Gupta (5 Year Int. M. Sc, 2017-18)


  • Vijay Meena (2 Year M. Sc, 2015-16)


  • Yash Patel (5 Year Int. M. Sc, 2015-16)


  • Tarun Jhunjhunwala (5 Year Int. M. Sc, 2015-16)


  • Jayanta Ghosh (2 Year M. Sc, 2013-14, now: Ph. D. from Indian Institute of Science Bangalore, now Postdoctoral Scholar at Universität Kassel)


  • Himanshu Dixit (5 Year Int. M. Sc, 2013-14)


  • Nisheet Patel (5 Year Int. M. Sc, 2014-15, now:  Ph. D. student, University of Geneva)


  • Shobhit Srivastava (5 Year Int. M. Sc, 2014-15)


  • Rahul Biswas (2 Year M. Sc, 2014-15)


  • Bibhab Bandhu Majumdar (M.Sc, 2013-14, now: Post Doc, S. N. Bose National Centre for Basic Sciences, Kolkata)



Project Assistants:



  • Manuja Kothiyal (Project Research Assistant, July 2015- September 2015)


  • Shruti Shriram Jeurkar (Project Research Assistant, September 2015- January 2016, now: PhD student, Indian Institute of Information Technology Hyderabad)


  • Sk Mujaffar Hussain (Project Research Assistant, February 2016- April 2016, now: PhD student, Indian Institute of Science Education and Research Pune) 



Summer/Winter Students:


  • Rohit Raj, Indian Institute of Science,, Bengaluru (NIUS Summer Student, 2020)

  • Santosh Kumari, Centra University of Rajasthan (IAS Summer Fellow, 2020)

  • Divy Gupta, NISER (Inspire Summer Fellow, May 2019 - July 2019)

  • Shashank Krishna, Bharatidashan University (NIUS Summer Student, June 2019 - July 2019)

  • Anirudh C S, MES College, Bangalore (IAS Summer Fellow, June 2018 - August 2018)


  • Ajesh Saviour Paravila, NIT Rourkela (NIUS Summer Student, May 2018 - July 2018, December 2018)


  • Chinmaya Kumar Jena, NISER (IAS Summer Fellow, May 2018 - June 2018)


  • Arya Karumanthra, Indian Institute of Science Bangalore (Inspire Winter Fellow, December 2017 - January 2018)


  • Gaurav Mitra, IIT Kanpur (IAS Summer Fellow, May 2017 - July 2017)


  • Aditya Sarma Phukon, University of Hyderabad (NIUS Summer Student, June 2017 - July 2017, November 2017 - December 2017, June 2018 - July 2018)


  • Anand C P, Madras Christian College (NIUS Winter/Summer Student, May - July 2016, December 2016 - January 2017, May -June 2017)


  • Mousumi Baruah, North Eastern Hill University, Shillong (Inspire Winter Fellow, December 2016 - January 2017)


  • Souvik Dey, Vishya Bharati (Inspire Summer Fellow, May-July 2016)


  • Mahendra Patel, IISER Pune (Inspire Summer Fellow, May-July 2016)


  • Arindam Debnath, St. Stephen's, New Delhi (IAS Summer Fellow, May-July 2016)


  • Manjunath G J, RIE (NCERT), Mysore (IAS Summer Fellow, May-July 2013)


  • Prachi Sharma, NISER (Inspire Summer Fellow, May-July 2013, now: PhD student, University of Minnesota)


  • Punit Kumar Jha, NISER (Inspire Summer Fellow, May-July 2014, now: PhD student, University of Illinois at Urbana Champaign)


  • Tousif Islam, IISER Kolkata (Inspire Summer Fellow, May-July 2015)


  • Rohit Goswami, HBTI Kanpur (May-July 2015)


This site was designed with the
website builder. Create your website today.
Start Now